Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn Swimmers Excel Again At Final Prelim Session of SEC Championships

Feb. 10, 2007



The Auburn men's and women's swimming teams took the next to last step towards winning a pair of SEC team championships, with another successful showing in the prelims during the final day of competition Saturday morning. All 28 swimmers from the morning session qualified for Saturday night's finals with 19 of those competitors reaching the championship final.


Auburn enters tonight's finals with a lead of 166 points over second-place Georgia in the women's race (622-456), while the men have an edge of 155.5 points over second-place Florida (703-547.5).


Auburn placed four of the top five qualifiers in the men's 100 free, including the top three places. Cesar Cielo matched his qualifying time of 43.19 to place first in the prelims, followed by Bryan Lundquist (43.48) in second, Matt Targett (43.81) in third and Alexei Puninski (44.00) in fifth. Scott Goodrich placed 11th and will swim in the consolation finals, but his time of 44.61 gave him a provisional qualifier for the first time this season.




Auburn will also have four swimmers in the championship final of the women's 200 breast. Julie Stupp and Anne Amardeilh tied for the second-fastest time with marks of 2:14.59, Alicia Jensen was fifth with a time of 2:15.09 and Abby MacGregor placed seventh in 2:17.31. For Jensen, it was her first NCAA `B' cut time of the year, while the others all improved on previous provisional qualifying marks.


Kara Denby clocked the fastest time in the nation in the women's 100 free with a mark of 48.11 to qualify first for the finals. Emily Kukors will join her in the championship final after finishing fourth in the prelims in 49.20, making the NCAA `A' cut for the first time this season. Ava Ohlgren finished ninth in 49.78 seconds and Emile Ewing was 14th with a time of 50.50, and they will swim in the consolation final.


John Scott raced to the fastest time in the men's 200 fly with a season-best mark of 1:45.67, and will be joined by Tyler McGill in the championship final. McGill finished fourth in the prelims with a time of 1:47.18. Matt Bartlett will participate in the consolation final after finishing 11th in the prelims in 1:49.81.


Auburn had the top two finishers in the prelims of the women's 200 fly. Kristen Hastrup recorded the fastest time of 1:57.48, improving her NCAA automatic qualifier, while Tawnie Bethune met the `A' cut standard for the first time this season with a mark of 1:57.67.


In the women's 200 back, Rachel Goh posted an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:56.84 to finish with the second fastest time. Melissa Marik met the NCAA `B' cut time with a mark of 1:58.29 that ranked her fifth, while Julianne McLane was sixth in 1:58.47. In the consolation finals will be Margo McCawley, who was 10th in the prelims with a mark of 2:00.10.


James Wike qualified for the men's 200 back championship final with a time of 1:45.96 which ranked him sixth. Just missing on the `A' final but qualifying for the `B' final were Joey Schneider (1:46.91), who was ninth in the prelims, and Matt Bartlett (1:47.55), who finished 10th.


In the men's 200 breast, Sean Osborne qualified for the championship final by placing eighth in a time of 1:59.22. Jon Roberts (1:59.81) was 10th and David Maras (2:01.82) 12th, putting them in the `B' final. Osborne and Roberts both posted NCAA provisional qualifying marks for the first time this season.


Finals in the same events plus the 1650 free and the 400 free relay will take place this evening beginning at 6 p.m. ET. Live results can be found on the Kentucky athletics website at


2007 SEC Championships
Auburn Prelim Finishes


Men's 200 back

6. James Wike, 45.96

9. Joey Schneider, 46.91

10. Matt Bartlett, 47.55


Women's 200 back

2. Rachel Goh, 1:56.84

5. Melissa Marik, 1:58.29

6. Julianne McLane, 1:58.47

10. Margo McCawley, 2:00.10


Men's 100 free

1. Cesar Cielo, 43.19

2. Bryan Lundquist, 43.48

3. Matt Targett, 43.81

5. Alexei Puninski, 44.00

11. Soctt Goodrich, 44.61


Women's 100 free

1. Kara Denby, 48.11

4. Emily Kukors, 49.20

9. Ava Ohlgren, 49.78

14. Emile Ewing, 50.50


Men's 200 breast

8. Sean Osborne, 1:59.22

10. Jon Roberts, 1:59.81

12. David Maras, 2:01.82


Women's 200 breast

T2. Anne Armadeilh, 2:14.59

T2. Julie Stupp, 2:14.59

5. Alicia Jensen, 2:15.09

7. Abby MacGregor, 2:17.31


Men's 200 fly

1. John Scott, 1:45.67

4. Tyler McGill, 1:47.18

11. Matt Bartlett, 1:49.81


Women's 200 fly

1. Kristen Hastrup, 1:57.48

2. Tawnie Bethune, 1:57.67


Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Store


Shop for your favorite summer items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information