Skip to main content Skip to footer
Read Montague Named Walter Gilbert Award Recipient
Read Montague

Oct. 30, 2011

AUBURN --Former Auburn track and field standout Read Montague was presented the 2011 Walter Gilbert Award at halftime of the Tigers' game against Ole Miss at Jordan-Hare Stadium Saturday.

The Walter Gilbert Award is given annually to former Auburn athletes who have distinguished themselves through achievements after graduation from Auburn.

The award is given in memory of the Tigers' three-time All-America center Walter Gilbert, who later became vice president of Texaco's European Oil Operations.

"The accomplishments of previous winners are very impressive, so it was a bit difficult to realize how exactly I fit into that group," Montague said. "I was surprised and feel honored."

Montague, a three-time letterman from 1981-83 and two-time team captain, won the decathlon in the 1981 SEC Championship with a score of 7160. He helped Auburn to an 11-4 dual meet record in 1981 as the Tigers placed second at the SEC Indoor Championship and fourth in the SEC Outdoor Championship.

"I'm still proud of winning the SEC decathlon, but some of my best memories of Auburn are my relationships with the fellow athletes and students," Montague said. "College years are the first time one is really independent and so the early relationships can last a lifetime.

"The track team was a very talented lot when I was there. They were a driven group of people and a number went on to excel in track beyond college and in the Olympics. They were a fun bunch of guys."

Graduating from Auburn with a degree in Mathematics, Montague received a Ph.D. in Biophysics from UAB and is currently the director of the Human Neuroimaging Lab and Computational Psychiatry Unit for the Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute. He also directs the Roanoke Brain Study, a project aimed at understanding decision-making through the lifespan and its relationship to brain development, function and disease. He has also held positions at Brown University as Professor of Neuroscience and Psychiatry, and at the Baylor College of Medicine as the Director of the Human Neuroimaging Lab and the Director of the Computational Psychiatry Unit.

"Dr. Read Montague has distinguished himself as a leading brain researcher during his outstanding career as a scientist in the years since he competed at Auburn University," said Auburn Athletics Director Jay Jacobs. "A former SEC champion in track and field, Dr. Montague has made monumental contributions to his field. He has also taught, inspired and encouraged countless students as a professor of physics. He is a worthy recipient of this distinguished award, and it is an honor to be able to present Dr. Montague as the 2011 Walter Gilbert Award winner."

Montague is the 31st recipient of the Walter Gilbert Award.

Walter Gilbert Award Recipients:
Year Athlete Sport
1981 Joe Stewart Football
1982 Thomas K. McGehee Football
1983 Joel Eaves Football
1984 Dr. David Middleton Football
1985 William A. Fickling, Jr. Basketball
1986 Ted Fereira Football
1987 John Adcock Football
1988 Bill Nichols Football
1989 C.H. "Babe" McGehee Football
1990 Billy Hitchcock Baseball, Football
1991 Vince Dooley Football, Basketball
1992 Jeff Beard Track
1993 Morris Savage Football
1994 Ed Dyas Football
1995 Lloyd Nix Football
1996 Richard Guthrie Football, Track
1997 Jim Voss Wrestling
1998 Ernie Warren Football
1999 Dr. James E. Martin Basketball
2000 John Mengelt Basketball
2001 Hal Herring Football
2002 Jim Fibbe Basketball
2003 Mac Crawford Football
2004 Charles Carlan Baseball
2005 David Marsh Swimming
2006 R. Kenneth Johns Football
2007 D. Gaines Lanier Football
2008 Pat Sullivan Football
2009 Ray Groover Basketball
2010 Ken Rice Football
2011 Read Montague Track & Field
Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information